The eve of IATEFL

‘Twas the night before IATEFL, and all through the house…

Don’t worry, I’ll stop there!

As I write this, I am sat at the dining room table of my Air BnB host in Birmingham, Edgars. I got up at 4.30 this morning to be able to Park & Ride to work (in Oxford) to enable me to leave at 3.30pm to try and beat the Oxford and Birmingham traffic. I think it largely worked out, because I was outside the hotel where Edgars works just before 6pm, after some fairly traumatic city driving through Birmingham in the heaving rain. All good driving experience though!

Edgars has to work late, so he popped outside and gave me his key (so much trust with Air BnB!) and then I drove to his flat around the corner. After failing to work out how to use his gas cooker, I settled with a bowl of kettle porridge for dinner and am now pottering around on my computer. I realise now that I possibly could have made plans to meet someone tonight, but in this end-of-the-world rain, I’m glad I didn’t. I’m going to go to bed early after my early morning today, ready for a day of Materials Writing ELT funjiggery. I think it’s about a 15-minute walk to the ICC from this flat, so hopefully there’ll be a nice coffee-serving establishment en route so I can treat myself 🙂

From attending the MaWSIG one-day conference earlier in the year, I have a vague idea of what to expect tomorrow, but I’m still excited. There has been so much hype and excitement on Twitter and I’m so glad to be able to get involved this year, even if only for two days. I’m looking forward to meeting more lovely people from my online network and I’m hoping to learn a few things. I’ve already offered to write reports on some of the sessions for the Marketing department at work, so hopefully I have something to report!

See you all tomorrow and/or Wednesday! Safe ELT travels! 🙂

One thought on “The eve of IATEFL

Leave a Reply

